Award Winners

This page is a work in progress. I hope to eventually have all the various award winners I have reviewed linked here by type and year to make them easy to find. Wish me luck!

Newberry Medal

Honor Books: 

Honor Books:

Honor Books:

Honor Books: 

Winner: The Girl Who Drank the Moon, by Kelly Barnhill
Honor Books:
Wolf Hollow, by Lauren Wolk
The Inquisitor's Tale, Or, the Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog, by Adam Gidwitz
Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life, by Ashley Bryan

Winner: The Last Stop on Market Street, by Matt de la Pena
Honor Books:
Echo, by Pam Munoz Ryan
The War That Saved My Life, by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Roller Girl, by Victoria Jamieson

Winner: The Crossover, by Kwame Alexander
Honor Books:
El Deafo, by Cece Bell
Brown Girl Dreaming, by Jacqueline Woodson

Winner: Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures, by Kate DiCamillo
Honor Books:
Paper Boy
The Year of Billy Miller, by Kevin Henkes
One Came Home, by Amy Timberlake
Doll Bones, by Holly Black

Winner: The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate
Honor Books:
Bomb: The Race to Build--and Steal--the World's Most Dangerous Weapon, by Steve Sheinkin
Splendors and Glooms, by Laura Amy Schlitz
Three Times Lucky (Tupelo Landing #1), by Sheila Turnage

Winner: Dead End in Norvelt, by Jack Gantos
Honor Books:
Inside Out and Back Again, by Thanhha Lai
Breaking Stalin's Nose, by Eugene Yelchin

Newberry Medal Past Years:

2011 Honor: One Crazy Summer, Rita Garcia-Williams
2009 Honor: Savvy (Savvy #1), by Ingrid Law
2008 Honor: The Wednesday Wars, by Gary D. Schimdt
2007 Honor: Rule, by Cynthia Lord
2006 Honor: Show Way, by Jacqueline Woodson
2006 Honor: Princess Academy, by Shannon Hale

1984 Honor: The Sign of the Beaver, by Elizabeth George Speare
1981 Winner: Jacob Have I Loved, by Katherine Paterson
1962 Winner: The Bronze Bow, by Elizabeth George Speare
1959 Winner: The Witch of Blackbird Pond, by Elizabeth George Speare
1956 Winner: Carry On, Mr. Bowditch, by Jean Lee Latham
1953 Honor: Charlotte's Web, by E. B. White
1949 Honor: My Father's Dragon (My Father's Dragon #1), by Ruth Stiles Gannett

* * * * * *

Caldecott Medal

2015 Honor: What Do You Do With a Tale Like This? by Steve Jenkins & Robin Page
2014 Honor: Journey, by Aaron Becker
2013 Honor: Extra Yarn, by Mac Barnett, Illustrated by Jon Klassen
2010 Winner: The Lion and the Mouse, by Jerry Pinkney
2008 Winner: The Invention of Hugo Cabret, by Brian Selznick
2007 Winner: Flotsam, by David Weisner

1989 Honor: Mirandy and Brother Wind, by Patricia McKissak
1984 Honor: King Bidgood's in the Bathtub, by Audrey Wood

Scott O'Dell Award (Historical Fiction for Youth)

2011: One Crazy Summer, by Rita Garcia-Williams
1984: The Sign of the Beaver, by Elizabeth George Speare

Robert F. Sibert Medal (Informational/Nonfiction for Youth)

Michael L. Printz Award (Young Adult Literature)

2016 Winner: Bone Gap, by Laura Ruby

Other Awards

National Book Awards

2015 Nonfiction Winner: Between the World and Me, by Ta Nehisi-Coates
2015 Young People's Literature Finalist: Bone Gap, by Laura Ruby
2012 Nonfiction Winner: Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity, by Katherine Boo

Pulitzer Prize

2014: General Nonfiction: Tom's River: A Story of Science and Salvation, by Dan Fagin
2011: General Nonfiction: The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer, by Siddhartha Mukherjee
2007: Fiction: The Road, by Cormac McCarthy

No comments:

Post a Comment